Our main role as governors of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School is to work with the Head to set the strategic direction and guiding principles of the school. We are also responsible for:

  • Ensuring the quality of the educational provision
  • Challenging and monitoring the performance of the school
  • Ensuring the effective management of the resources, finances, property and employees of the school

As a Governing Body we work at a strategic rather than operational level and discharge our responsibilities through the Head and his Senior Leadership Team (SLT).

We also provide specialist skills, e.g. financial, legal, project management, Human Resources, to help the Head and his senior team develop the school and to provide support to the teachers and staff.

As Governors, we put the education and welfare of the pupils at the heart of everything we do. We monitor the work, standards and performance of the school and provide a link with parents and our local community. We work together as a group and offer our time and effort on a purely voluntary basis because we are proud to be associated with an outstanding school and are dedicated to its continuing excellence.

Jane Penton, Chair

The Full Governing Body

Members of the governing body are all local people with a strong interest in the school. Over half the governors are current or former DCGS parents.

The term of office of all Governors is four years excepting:

  • The Headmaster
  • Staff Governors if they cease to be employed by the School

In general Governors are replaced as and when they reach the end of their four year term (shown in brackets). Subject to remaining eligible to be a particular type of Governor, any Governor may be re-appointed or re-elected.

  • Chair: Mrs Jane Penton - Community (1 January 2021)
  • Vice Chair: Dr Mark Pegg - Co-opted (22 February 2021)
  • Mr David Atkinson – Headmaster (ex officio)
  • Mr Gareth Cadman - Staff (4 January 2022)
  • Mr Joe Cronly - Parent (21 October 2020)
  • Mrs Isobel Darby - Co-opted (9 June 2020)
  • Mrs Alison Davis - Community (22 February 2021)
  • Mr Giri Fox - Parent (4 January 2022)
  • Mr Leon Glenister - Community (1 November 2019)
  • Mrs Emma Judge - Community (28 February 2022)
  • Mr Shaun Kennedy - Community (18 November 2019)
  • Mr Matthew Lawrence - Community (01 September 2020)
  • Mr Stephen Nokes - Community (15 July 2020)
  • Mr James Stephenson - Staff (4 January 2022)
  • Mrs Sue Tanner - Co-opted (8 June 2021)
  • Mike Tingey - Community (24 October 2020)
  • Student observers - Oliver Hardman, Joe Turrell, Sophia Arkley
  • Clerk to the Governors - Mrs Caroline Cobb

Governors whose term of office has ended:

Mik Anderson (16 December 2017), Richard Gledhill (1 January 2018), Toni Nichols (1 January 2018).

The Members of the Academy Trust:

  • Mr David Atkinson
  • Mrs Carole Bevins
  • Mrs Stephanie Horrocks
  • Dr John Maynard
  • Ms Jane Penton
  • Dr Mark Pegg

Governors are appointed to the Governing Body via a number of different means:

Community Governors are appointed by the members (two of whom are parents) of the Dr Challoner’s Grammar School Academy Trust.

Co-opted Governors are appointed by the governing body of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School.

Parent Governors are elected by ballot of the parent body of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School.

Staff Governors are elected by the staff of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School.

Student Observers, normally the School Captain and his two deputies, are invited by the governing body to attend Full Governing Body and sub-committee meetings in a non-voting capacity.

Whatever their means of appointment, all governors have an equal voice and do not represent any particular group.

Governors' Committees

Much of the regular business of the school is considered by governors in specialist committees which take reports, analyse information, discuss the issues in detail and provide advice to the Headmaster and his staff. They meet each term and report back to Full Governing Body meetings with actions and recommendations.

Historic attendance of Governors at Full Governing Body meetings can be seen in our Statement of Accounts.

Committee and responsibility grid


  • David Atkinson
  • Mark Pegg
  • Jane Penton
  • Sue Tanner (Chair)

Learning and Teaching

  • Mark Pegg (Chair)
  • David Atkinson
  • Gareth Cadman
  • Leon Glenister
  • Stephen Nokes
  • Jane Penton
  • David Roberts


  • David Atkinson
  • Isobel Darby
  • Giri Fox
  • Shaun Kennedy
  • Matthew Lawrence
  • Jane Penton

Property and Services

  • Mike Tingey (Chair)
  • David Atkinson
  • Joe Cronly
  • Alison Davis
  • Jane Penton
  • Sue Tanner

Astra (SCITT and Teacher Training)

  • David Atkinson
  • Shaun Kennedy (Chair)
  • Mark Pegg
  • Jane Penton
  • James Stephenson


Membership: Chair and Vice Chair of Governors, Chairs of other committees and the Senior Leadership Team.