Academy Trusts have different governance arrangements from schools that are under Local Authority control and their governors have a wider range of duties than governors of maintained schools. Academies also have an additional layer of governance, known as the members. The members are responsible for appointing the majority of the governors, approving the accounts at their Annual Meeting and for making any changes to the constitution (known as the Articles of Association) of the Academy Trust. The Academy Trust is the employer of the school’s staff, the admissions authority and the owner of its land and buildings.

Beyond this, it is the governing body which remains responsible for making strategic decisions and for overseeing the operation of the school.

As an academy is also a charitable company limited by guarantee, the governors have duties both as directors under company law and as trustees under charity law. The members of the Dr Challoner’s Grammar School Academy Trust are:

  • Mike Anderson – Chair of Governors’ Finance Committee
  • Mr David Atkinson – Headmaster
  • Mrs Carol Bevins – Former Governor and former DCGS parent
  • Mrs Stephanie Horrocks - Former member of DCGS SLT
  • Dr Mark Pegg – Vice Chairman of Governors and current DCGS parent
  • Mrs Jane Penton – Chair of Governors
  • Dr John Maynard – Former Chair of Governors

All members have been in position since the Academy's inception on 1st January 2011 with the exception of Mr Mike Anderson who replaced Mr Mark Haines as Chair of the Governor's Finance Committee on 29 September 2016, Mr David Atkinson who replaced Dr Mark Fenton on 1st September 2016 and Stephanie Horrocks who replaced Mrs Sue Lawson in January 2017.

Articles of Association